Candi Cares

Encouragement, motivation, discussions on health & wellness, financial advice and love. All packaged in a nice little blog and sent from me to you.

Protein….it’s what’s for breakfast

A long long time ago….probably around my sophomore year of College, I decided that I needed to lose weight extremely quickly (probably to satisfy my then boyfriend, who I later on learned preferred me fat….insert big eye roll smiley icon here..)  Low/No Carb Diets were all the rage during that time, and I decided to join the bandwagon. I had endless 3 egg omelets stuffed with ham and cheese for breakfast, philly cheesesteak sandwiches (minus the bread of course) for lunch and steak and broccoli and cheese for dinner.And I lost weight.  I felt like crap and envied people who ate bread…but I lost weight!

That was until I “slipped up” and had a bagel for breakfast one day after finals.  (I rationalize that it fell into my mouth because it had been neglected for the past three months, therefore I am not to blame).  The next day, I stepped on the scale and saw that I had gained three pounds.  From a frikkin bagel!  I was so pizzed off that I decided to have everything I had been desperately craving and depriving myself of during the past few months.  I ate like a person who had never seen food or carbs before.  In less than two weeks, I had regained everything I had lost during the past three months.

And that, my friends, was the end of my low/no carb diet.

But I did learn something during my low/no carb diet days, that I still take with me on my current journey to good health.

Protein is your friend.  Protein helps you feel full and satisfied much longer than certain refined carbs do.  Especially in the morning.  I find that if I have some kind of protein (veggie omelette, quiche, homemade egg mcmuffin, etc) when I start my day, that I am definitely less ravenous and tend to make smarter choices at the rest of the days meals.

My current favorite breakfast is a three egg white omelette filled with spinach, mushrooms, onions and 1 oz of shredded 2% cheddar cheese.  I also cook the veggies in two teaspoons of olive oil to meet my healthy oil servings for the day.

Image

And I feel great after I eat it.  But best of all….i’m not glancing at the clock every single minute waiting to see when I can eat my next meal.  Protein rocks my socks!What are your favorite protein packed meals (especially breakfast meals)??  I’m sure there are some great recipes that I am missing!Make your day a great one!  Remember…whether you think you can, or you think you can’t….you’re right.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

